Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: New SV-ADSB-472 Dual Band Receiver

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Fernley, Nevada
    Posts
    13

    New SV-ADSB-472 Dual Band Receiver

    Dynon is saying that the AF-5000 series system will work with their new SV-ADSB-472 Dual Band Receiver, and that it is a direct swap out for the SV-ADSB-470 (the current ADSB receiver that we currently have). Can AFS verify this?

    Name:  Capture.jpg
Views: 176
Size:  18.6 KB
    Last edited by DennisStewart; 03-26-2017 at 02:50 PM.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    KDVT
    Posts
    51
    I talked to them last week and to swap out you need to deal directly with Dynon. This what Tricia said via email.

    To trade in your ADSB-470, you need to go through Dynon. On their website,
    is a link for the trade-in program. Open "News". In the announcement for
    the new Dual Band ADSB, click on the link "affordable trade-in program"
    this will access the Trade-In Form that you need to complete. If you have
    any questions, please let me know.

    Hope this helps. Larry

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Fernley, Nevada
    Posts
    13
    Thanks Larry, I applied for the trade-in yesterday in anticipation of this being a direct swap-out. Just wanted confirmation from the AFS guys that there won't be a software change needed. Have you spoken to anyone at AFS other than Tricia?
    Last edited by DennisStewart; 03-26-2017 at 05:12 PM.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    KDVT
    Posts
    51
    No I have not. You make a good point. Since we have plenty of time perhaps Shawn will respond with info regarding any needed software update for the dual version ADSB IN. Larry

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Fernley, Nevada
    Posts
    13
    Just talked to Rob,
    It will work. Direct swap-out!!!

    This means air-to-air traffic when beyond the range of a ground station. Fantastic!

    Dennis

  6. #6
    Advanced Flight Systems, Inc. Shawn McGinnis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Canby, OR
    Posts
    441
    There is a software change required so I would recommend delaying the trade-in if you want to fly with ADS-B in the near future. The software is almost out of beta for the touch screen users. It will need to go through beta on the non-touch displays.
    Shawn McGinnis

    Advanced Flight Systems, Inc.
    support@advanced-flight-systems.com

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    KDVT
    Posts
    51
    I emailed support a few days ago regarding the progress of the software update for the touch screen but have not heard back. Does anyone have any info regarding the progress of the testing?
    Larry

  8. #8
    Advanced Flight Systems, Inc. Shawn McGinnis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Canby, OR
    Posts
    441
    The software is in feature lock and in its final stage of beta release.
    Shawn McGinnis

    Advanced Flight Systems, Inc.
    support@advanced-flight-systems.com

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    127
    Will this automatically filter or distinguish duplicate targets air to air/air to ground or display both?
    Last edited by rvdave; 04-29-2017 at 06:38 AM.
    Dave Ford
    RV10

  10. #10
    Advanced Flight Systems, Inc. Shawn McGinnis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Canby, OR
    Posts
    441
    It may need some tweaking but properly configured traffic targets should only show up once.
    Shawn McGinnis

    Advanced Flight Systems, Inc.
    support@advanced-flight-systems.com

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •