Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Does Navworx supply position source?

  1. #1

    Does Navworx supply position source?

    Does the Navworx box (specifically the 600-EXP but I assume the data stream is the same as the 600-B) feed GPS data to the system via the serial port, or does it only send weather and traffic data? Wondering if the unit, since it has a built-in GPS, might replace my existing GPS-18 module for position data.
    --
    Joshua Wyatt
    RV-9A N627DW @ KRST - Flying
    4500sEE + 4500sMFD | Stratux Dual-Band, GTN650Xi

  2. #2
    Advanced Flight Systems Shawn McGinnis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Canby, OR
    Posts
    860
    I don't think the NavWorx has a way to output the GPS information into the EFIS. The ADS-B information is using its only RS-232 output.
    Shawn McGinnis

    Advanced Flight Systems
    support@advanced-flight-systems.com

  3. #3
    Thanks Shawn. I just wasn't certain if the ADS-B data stream included position data or not. It's looking like the Navworx may be the easiest/most economical path for a 4500s system, but I'm out of serial ports so something else will need to be disconnected.
    --
    Joshua Wyatt
    RV-9A N627DW @ KRST - Flying
    4500sEE + 4500sMFD | Stratux Dual-Band, GTN650Xi

  4. #4
    There are some new features in the latest software release, but they are being delivered via ARNIC. To be honest, I haven't even looked to see what the 4500 may or may not support, since my current configuration is meeting my needs. I've got three screens, so I have plenty of serial ports.
    Bob Leffler
    N410BL - RV10 - Flying
    http://mykitlog.com/rleffler

  5. #5
    Advanced Flight Systems Shawn McGinnis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Canby, OR
    Posts
    860
    Joshua, what is your current serial port setup? I may be able to find a combination that will work.
    Shawn McGinnis

    Advanced Flight Systems
    support@advanced-flight-systems.com

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Shawn McGinnis View Post
    Joshua, what is your current serial port setup? I may be able to find a combination that will work.
    Shawn, sorry I missed your reply earlier. Thanks for taking a look.

    My current setup -- I have a single AF-4500s with EFIS, Engine, and AOA boards.
    Serial port setup as follows...
    1 - VPX Pro
    2 - Icarus to GTX327
    3 - CO Guardian 455 CO/O2
    4 - Garmin GPS18-5Hz (AF-GPS)

    I would like to add:
    ARINC to Trutrak Vizion 385
    ADS-B trfc/wx (looking like Navworx or Freeflight)

    If there's a better way to get any/all of this connected short of buying an entire new system, let me know!

    I talked to Ken at Oshkosh and we figured that everything could be hooked up (plus my SL40 and Wifi to Foreflight) to a single screen if I upgraded to a 5000-series system and used the SV-ARINC module, but since I have the internal AHRS and EMS boards, that would be a costly proposition, since if I understand it correctly I would need new ADAHRS, EMS, and GPS modules in addition to the screen itself. I'm considering adding a 5500 as a second screen, using data from my 4500.
    --
    Joshua Wyatt
    RV-9A N627DW @ KRST - Flying
    4500sEE + 4500sMFD | Stratux Dual-Band, GTN650Xi

  7. #7
    Advanced Flight Systems Shawn McGinnis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Canby, OR
    Posts
    860
    Best option for your current wiring would be to move the ICARUS output to serial #4 and use NMEA/ICARUS. Then disconnect the CO Guardian and use its switched outputs into the 4500's general purpose inputs to show CO and O2 warnings. Then wire the ARINC to serial #2 and the ADS-B to serial #3.
    Shawn McGinnis

    Advanced Flight Systems
    support@advanced-flight-systems.com

  8. #8
    Quote Originally Posted by Shawn McGinnis View Post
    Best option for your current wiring would be to move the ICARUS output to serial #4 and use NMEA/ICARUS. Then disconnect the CO Guardian and use its switched outputs into the 4500's general purpose inputs to show CO and O2 warnings. Then wire the ARINC to serial #2 and the ADS-B to serial #3.
    Aha, I had forgot that the CO Guardian had a relay output for the CO alarm. Nothing for the SpO2 sensor, but the CO is the important one ... I think this'll work, and gets basically everything into the existing screen. Thanks Shawn!
    --
    Joshua Wyatt
    RV-9A N627DW @ KRST - Flying
    4500sEE + 4500sMFD | Stratux Dual-Band, GTN650Xi

Similar Threads

  1. ARINC and Navworx
    By glenn654 in forum ADS-B
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-11-2013, 10:18 AM
  2. Navworx question
    By glenn654 in forum AF-3400s, AF-3500s, AF-4500s ... General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-06-2013, 01:27 PM
  3. NavWorx ADS-B Connections
    By Rob Hickman in forum ADS-B
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 04-27-2013, 01:40 AM
  4. Va -- best position on Pro display
    By ahannay in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-22-2013, 10:56 PM
  5. NavWorx ADS-B w/ARINC
    By rshannon in forum ADS-B
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-04-2011, 02:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •