Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: User defined waypoints/airports

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    1

    User defined waypoints/airports

    Is there an ability to input user defined waypoints, particularily airports not included in any supplied database, commonly referred to as a "user airport data file"?
    If so, what is the format?
    On page 74 of the AF5000 manual, there is the phrase "Approach to any airport in the map database or user airport data file with runway endpoint data"

  2. #2
    Advanced Flight Systems, Inc. Shawn McGinnis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Canby, OR
    Posts
    441
    This will be a feature in v14 of the software.
    Shawn McGinnis

    Advanced Flight Systems, Inc.
    support@advanced-flight-systems.com

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    49
    Is there anything new on this ?? It would be a great addition to have user defined waypoints.

  4. #4
    Advanced Flight Systems, Inc. Shawn McGinnis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Canby, OR
    Posts
    441
    Vx13.04.02 introduced rubber banding for internal flight plans. User waypoints are just around the corner after that.
    Shawn McGinnis

    Advanced Flight Systems, Inc.
    support@advanced-flight-systems.com

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    49
    For the AF-5000 Original Displays (OS1): X12.08.08-MV16, is this the "end of the line" for further upgrades ? Will we see the same features as for the OS5/touch units ?

  6. #6
    Advanced Flight Systems, Inc. Shawn McGinnis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Canby, OR
    Posts
    441
    There are plans to integrate fixes and new devices into the OS1 displays. I'm not sure if new features will be migrated.
    Shawn McGinnis

    Advanced Flight Systems, Inc.
    support@advanced-flight-systems.com

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    49
    Quote Originally Posted by Shawn McGinnis View Post
    There are plans to integrate fixes and new devices into the OS1 displays. I'm not sure if new features will be migrated.
    It would be good to get this clarified. Is this the end of the line with respect to OS1 displays and features ? Such as waypoints - better user interface (for fuel computer etc) ?

    thanks
    Per

  8. #8
    Advanced Flight Systems, Inc. Shawn McGinnis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Canby, OR
    Posts
    441
    We haven't officially stopped production on OS:1 units at the time of this post. The team currently plans to continue maintaining the OS:1 units. My best guess would be that OS1 won't receive user waypoints as you can't touch the screen to set their location. Same with fuel computer. You can't press the buttons on the popup keyboard.
    Shawn McGinnis

    Advanced Flight Systems, Inc.
    support@advanced-flight-systems.com

Similar Threads

  1. Dynon SkyView Pilots: New Airport Diagrams for nearly 5,000 airports
    By jkgoblue in forum AF-5600 & AF-5500 General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-08-2016, 10:20 AM
  2. Extended cernterlines for private airports
    By dnelson in forum AF-3400s, AF-3500s, AF-4500s ... General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-11-2013, 02:05 PM
  3. Multiple waypoints on 3400
    By Captain Jack in forum AF-3400s, AF-3500s, AF-4500s ... General Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-17-2012, 08:49 PM
  4. User-defined waypoints
    By danbenua in forum AF-5600 & AF-5500 General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-02-2012, 07:04 PM
  5. AF-Pilot User Document
    By kbehrent in forum General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-21-2010, 06:36 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •